Close Menu

Beck A. Taylor Elected President of the American Association of Presidents of Independent Colleges and Universities

February 24, 2017
Whitworth President Beck A. Taylor, Ph.D., has been elected president of the American Association of Presidents of Independent Colleges and Universities by its board of directors. AAPICU is a nationwide, collegial group for presidents of independent institutions committed to preserving the private sector of higher education.

“College and university presidents have some of the best jobs in the world; our proximity to bright students and scholars, and the privilege of stewarding institutions with meaningful missions and rich histories, provide some of the most thrilling professional experiences imaginable,” says Taylor. “At the same time, presidents of higher education institutions face an increasingly complex and challenging set of issues that will continue to require wisdom, patience and an unflappable hope for the future. To be asked to lead an organization like AAPICU, an organization that seeks to support and empower higher education leaders, is an honor, and I'm looking forward to embarking on an agenda that reinforces the enormous honor and responsibility owned by every member.”

In addition, Taylor serves on other prominent higher education boards including those of the Council of Independent Colleges, the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, the Independent Colleges of Washington, and the Association of Presbyterian Colleges and Universities. He also chairs the Higher Education Leadership Group of Greater Spokane Incorporated.

Located in Spokane, Wash., Whitworth is a private, liberal arts university affiliated with the Presbyterian church. The university, which has an enrollment of nearly 3,000 students, offers more than 100 undergraduate and graduate degree programs.


Lauren Clark Hughes, media relations manager, Whitworth University, (509) 777-4703 or