Thursday, February 26, 2015

Whitworth Choir to present spring concert tour March 20-28

The Whitworth Choir will present its 2015 spring tour March 20-28, with performances taking place along the I-5 corridor of Washington state. The concerts will feature Whitworth Choir Director Marc A. Hafso’s Missa Pacem (Mass of Peace), a 23-minute work featuring Whitworth’s outstanding soloists, mixed chorus, piano and percussion. Other works will include selections from Benjamin Britten’s Five Flower Songs, Charles Ives’ Circus Band for mixed chorus and piano four-hands, and songs from Africa and North America.

Whitworth Great Decisions series to feature March 5 lecture on Russian aggression

Whitworth Visiting Assistant Professor of Political Science Anthony Rodin will present Whitworth’s next Great Decisions lecture on Thursday, March 5, at 7:30 p.m. in Weyerhaeuser Hall’s Robinson Teaching Theatre. The event is free and open to the public. Rodin’s  lecture, “Not a New Cold War: Why Russia’s Aggression Requires a New Lens,” will reflect his take on the reality of modern Russia, which he claims is closer to collapsing than recapturing its place as a global superpower.

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Whitworth Bruner-Welch Chair to explore the history of Christianity in March 11 lecture

Whitworth Professor of Theology James R. Edwards will present his final lecture as the Bruner-Welch Endowed Chair of Theology. Edwards’ lecture, “The First Christian Generation: From Jesus to the Church,”  will take place on Wednesday, March 11 at 7 p.m. in Weyerhaeuser Hall’s Robinson Teaching Theatre on campus. The lecture is free and open to the public.

Monday, February 23, 2015

Whitworth to host Vandana Asthana for Feb. 26 lecture on India’s changing political landscape

Eastern Washington University Professor of Government Vandana Asthana will  speak on “Modi’s Rise and the Remaking of India” on Thursday, Feb. 26, at 7:30 p.m. in the Robinson Teaching Theatre in Weyerhaeuser Hall at Whitworth University. Asthana’s lecture is the second of five in Whitworth’s 57th annual Great Decisions Lecture Series, which brings notable speakers to campus to address important socio-political issues taking place around the world. The lectures are free and open to the public.